Christmas, anywhere but here

Yes, it means exactly what it sounds like
I am over Christmas in Nigeria. So over it!

I have been mulling over spending my Christmas anywhere else but in Nigeria, since 2020 happened, but my finances weren’t exactly right at the time. I decided that the first chance I got, I would go somewhere next door as long as it wasn’t in Nigeria.

So, I have been thinking of spending my Christmas holiday in Ghana since last year for a couple of reasons, and I will list them so that you don’t have to make any guesses. I’ll start with the most important reason.

Reason 1:
Kay is in Ghana!
During Covid year of 2020, I rekindled my long-time friendship with one of my friends from my year of modeling in 2012. We became close at a TV commercial we were a part of for an alcoholic beverage brand. We spent the whole day at the Oriental hotel, from getting our make-up done to rehearsals. We clicked almost immediately because we were the tallest ladies in the room, so we naturally gravitated toward one another, and that is how our friendship began.

Somehow in 2013, we ended up working for the same company briefly. I can’t remember who was the first to start working at the company but imagine my surprise when we saw each other in the office and realized we would be colleagues. It made the short time I spent there bearable. I only worked at the company for a few months before I left.

Kay and I lost touch, but we followed each other on Twitter, so we stayed in contact. In 2020, something brought us back in into each other’s lives. I found out that she moved to Ghana and has been doing amazing things in the Writing community. I had honestly been talking about how much I wanted to go back into writing, and reconnecting with Kay seemed like a sign.

She got me through most of 2020. Having someone to share that terrible year with was a life-saver. She went from friend to sister. I couldn’t be more appreciative of our friendship. So, when I was thinking of where to go for Christmas, Ghana seemed right. I needed a break, and I didn’t want to go far.

I also get to spend time with one of the best people I know. The idea behind going to Ghana is to reset and replan for 2023. I have to make some big decisions, and I wanted to do that far from home, where it is too comfortable and far away from the responsibilities that never seemed too far away from me.

Reason 2:
A part of my family on my maternal side is from Ghana
I was in my early twenties when my mother told me that; we have family in Ghana/Sierra Leone on her mother’s side. I was excited to hear that because young Frankie never fully felt 100% Nigerian. I have always felt this way since I could remember. I always thought there was more to my heritage, and hearing that from my mother settled in my soul.

I believe that choosing to go to Ghana would be the perfect introduction to the other parts of my heritage. I want to connect to something else, somewhere else that resonated with me because Nigeria doesn’t 100%. Going to Ghana would be a start to learning more about my heritage and maybe going a step further to find a cousin or two. Who knows?

I recently heard that one of my Uncles has been looking for family members out there, and he hasn’t been lucky yet. It’s disappointing, but I am not giving up on finding the missing part of myself.

Reason 3:
I need a change of environment
I am tired of Nigeria! Have you been in Nigeria lately?? Specifically, Lagos? I can honestly tell you that the average Nigerian needs a vacation away from Nigeria. With the steady rise of dollars, fuel scarcity, and inflation in food prices and oxygen. We need a break. Sapa (to be broke) is on a different level right now, and Nigerians are just trying to survive.

At least 80% of every friendship group has left the country for the UK or Canada, and some are just returning to Houston, Texas, or Atlanta, Georgia.

Reason 4:
Maybe, a tourism-inspired vacation
Asides from needing to change my environment, I want to be a tourist. It has been a while since I’ve experienced a culture outside of what I know in Nigeria. I want to be a tourist again. I need some much-needed local delicacies and fashion and experience other touristy things.

It has been a busy year, especially the last six months. It has been a little difficult professionally, but my love life has been great. I am excited to end the year on my terms, doing something I have been planning for a while now. I haven’t created my itinerary of all the tourist things I plan to do, and I can’t wait.

Until next time
XOXO…

One thought on “Christmas, anywhere but here

  1. You are a big bowl of different west African cultures. Wish I could travel to Ghana with you. I know a few words in twi. You’ll enjoy your stay in Ghana. Extend a hug to Kay for me

    Like

Leave a comment