Having it figured out…somewhat

I want to start by apologizing for the lateness of this post. This is the third topic I have tried to write in the last month amidst my busy schedule. The first two topics weren’t exactly coming to me, and none of the write-ups were coming out right, so I wasn’t satisfied. I plan to revisit those and still share them with you soon. Well, I hope this topic does flow out a lot easier, and as they say, the third time is the charm. I plan to keep it short and to the point because I do have another post to share at the end of the month.

So, here I go

I had my performance review with one of my new managers earlier in the week. It was short but very interesting. It left me with more questions about the next steps I would like to take in my career. I already had this talk with my CEO, and I had given myself until the end of the year to come up with answers. This meeting with my manager gave me quite a bit to think about when it comes to my career.

He asked me, ‘What are the next steps in your career plans, especially within your current role?’ 

If you don’t know what I do, I am a Growth Partnership Manager at a retail tech company. I have been in this role since January, and it’s been interesting if I am honest. I haven’t thought about quitting in the last year, and that’s a good sign. It could also be because I work with some great people. It would be sad to say my goodbyes.

Anyways, back to the question my manager asked me. It took me back to the conversation I had with the CEO a couple of months ago, and just like I had replied to him, ‘I am not sure yet, the same reply came to mind. It was time to buckle down and seriously think about what to do next with my career. 

Since I wasn’t sure, I decided to ask him what he thought. He offered me two options. He said, ‘it’s either I transition into a new role (a lateral movement), or I add new responsibility to my current job role but shed some of it. There needs to be a balance. The latter option sounded like a good idea. 

Let me tell you about the preferred option. It simply focuses on building specialized data reports. I do that now but on a small scale. If I decide to do this, I will be sinking into data consumption and regurgitation. As much as I find it interesting, I also find it daunting because it’s something that I never really thought I would be doing. I briefly considered getting another degree in Business analytics a few years ago. I am choosing to view it as a sign.

Analyzing data and translating it seems daunting because of the misconceptions about data analytics. I used to think it solely had to do with numbers, statistics, and maths. Those three things give me anxiety. It’s funny how I used to be great with numbers when I was younger, but I am not exactly sure when that changed. Now, just looking at numbers can fry my brain cells. I know that’s fear speaking because all I need is confidence and patience with myself, and I will be fine. 

Data analytics isn’t the only job role I had misconceptions about when I was younger. I remember when I thought marketing was solely about field sales. Hitting the pavement with your product or service to get people to buy, and I did that briefly. I didn’t enjoy the job, which is why I only lasted two weeks on that job. I spent eight days trying to sell Verizon door to door before I started hating myself, but I had to stick it out to get that paycheck after 2weeks.  

Anyways, as scared as I am about this new role, the hungry student in me is looking forward to learning something new and different from what I know. I am looking to evolve and gain more knowledge. I am looking to push myself beyond what I never thought I would be two years ago. My ultimate career goal has always been to help businesses grow, and I think I am slowly moving in that direction with all the things I have learned and learning as I continue on my journey to becoming.

You are never too old to learn, and as long as you are not dead, you can become anything you want if you are willing to do the work and stay dedicated to your goals. Some of us get on our journey faster than others. Some of us know the path we want to take as soon as we embark on it, but there are those of us, like me, that take a few drunken steps here and there trying to figure out the right way, but in the end, we will get there because we do not give up. 

Until next time

XOXO….

One thought on “Having it figured out…somewhat

Leave a comment